At Litcham School Primary Phase, the PSHE and Citizenship curriculum is covered over seven themes and is re-visited by each Year Group (from Year 1 to Year 6).

The themes covered are:

  • Me and My Healthy Lifestyle
  • Me and Growing and Changing
  • Me and My Healthy Lifestyle
  • Me and keeping Safe
  • Me and Making a positive Contribution
  • Me and My medicine and Drugs
  • Me and My feelings / Me and My relationships (two combined themes).

Nursery and The Reception class follows the EYFS outcomes (statutory framework).

This PSHE programme helps give pupils the knowledge, skills and understanding they need to lead confident, healthy and independent lives. The pupil’s take part in a range of activities enabling them to work with others and recognise their own worth. They reflect on experiences and tackle many moral and social issues we see in school life. The pupil’s learn to understand and respect diversity and differences enabling them to form effective relationships with others.

We have an active relationship with the local community and make sure that the children are aware of their role within that community. We support many local and national charities and help children to learn the importance of thinking about others. Our school council has a powerful voice across the school, making sure that pupils views and wishes are considered and taken into account.